Team India for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Names of 30 probable players announced



The national cricket team selectors headed by Sandeep Patil took their decision over the 30 names of probable players list for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 to be held in Australia and New Zealand. The crucial meeting conducted over the selection of World Cup probables was held on Thursday around 1 pm. The meeting was considered to be a D-day for the senior players like Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Gautam Gambhir and Harbhajan Singh (all part of World Cup winning team in 2011) to get a return-call in the national side, but thy were completely snubbed by the selectors.

The main yardstick for the selection of players has been the performance in bouncy and seaming conditions as it is what would be expected on Australian and New Zealand pitches. Defending champions, Team India that will fly Down Under with a good mix of experienced and young legs. Going by the selection made for World Cup 2015, one can get that the national selectors have stuck to the current combination of team playing under captain MS Dhoni. The selectors  would then select the final 15-members from this list of probables.

ICC World Cup 2015, co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand is expected to be an-all together different experience for the defending champions. For Team India, World Cup 2011 could be seen as an easy cake compared to what they are ought to witness Down Under. The flat tracks of subcontinent will be replaced by the fast, green and bouncy turf of WACA Ground, Perth, is meant to hunting ground for the pacers, something that Indian counterparts Australia, England and South Africa boast of.

Since the last World Cup victory in 2011, a lot has changed right from the composition of present team to the overall dynamics. There are new heroes that have clearly replaced the old-war horses who shone during ICC World Cup 2011 but they not only struggle with their fitness but also are not match-fit for the lack of match practice.

Team India for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Names of 30 probable players announced 

Batsmen: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa, Murali Vijay, Manish Pandey, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav

Wicket-keepers: MS Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Sanju Samson

Fast-bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ashok Dinda, PArvez Rasool

Spinners: R Ashwin, Axar patel, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Kuldeep Yadav

All-rouders: Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja

Interestingly, the squad for ICC World Cup 2011 included MS Dhoni (C&Wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag (vc), Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Yusuf Pathan, Sreesanth, Virat Kohli, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla.

No comments