Split of Districts in TamilNadu from 1966

Districts in TamilNadu

Split of Districts in TamilNadu from 1966


Districts in TamilNadu,After the Indian independence in August 1947, the former British province of Madras Presidency was renamed Madras State. Following states reorganizations in 1953 and 1956, the present state boundaries emerged. It was officially renamed Tamil Nadu in 1969.

In 1956,Madras State was made up of 13 districts: Chingleput, Coimbatore, Kanyakumari, Madras, Madurai, Nilgiris, North Arcot,Ramanathapuram, Salem, South Arcot, Thanjavur, Tiruchirappalli, and Tirunelveli. Since then, the districts have been divided as follows:

  • 1966: Dharmapuri district split from Salem district
  • 1974: Pudukkottai district split from Tiruchirappalli district
  • 1979: Erode district split from Coimbatore district
  • 1985: Virudhunagar and Sivaganga districts split from Madurai and Ramanathapuram
  • 1985: Dindigul district split from Madurai district
  • 1986: Thoothukudi split from Tirunelveli district
  • 1989: Tiruvannamalai and Vellore districts split from North Arcot district
  • 1991: Nagapattinam and Tiruvarur districts split from Thanjavur district
  • 1993: Cuddalore and Viluppuram districts split from South Arcot district
  • 1995: Karur and Perambalur districts split from Tiruchirappalli district
  • 1996: Theni district split from Madurai district
  • 1997: Namakkal district split from Salem district
  • 1997: Kanchipuram and Tiruvallur districts split from Chengalpattu district
  • 2004: Krishnagiri district split from Dharmapuri district
  • 2007: Ariyalur district split from Perambalur district
  • 2009: Tiruppur district split from Coimbatore and Erode districts


Indian PIN codes

PAN Card



 TEN principles for Peace of Mind..


No comments