PM Modi’s Cabinet expansion: Manohar Parrikar, JP Nadda, Suresh Prabhu sworn-in


PM Modi's Cabinet expansion: Manohar Parrikar, JP Nadda, Suresh Prabhu sworn-in

Zee Media Bureau/Neha Attre

  • Total 21 ministers were inducted in Modi’s Cabinet today. Out of these, four are Cabinet ministers while 14 are MoS and three others as MoS (Independent).
  • The oath taking ceremony ends.
  • Singer Babul Supriyo, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Vijay Sampla are administered oath as MoS by President Pranab Mukherjee.
  • Yashwant Sinha’s son Jayant Sinha and Olympic medallist Rajyavardhan Rathore take oath as MoS.
  • Giriraj Singh, Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, Ram Shankar Katheriya and YS Chaudhury sworn-in as Ministers of State.
  • Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Ram Kripal Yadav, Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary, Sanwar Lal Jat and Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya sworn-in as Ministers of State.
  • Telangana’s Bandaru Dattatreya, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Prof Mahesh Sharma take oath as MoS (Independent).
  • Suresh Prabhu, JP Nadda and Haryana leader Chaudhary Birender Singh take oath as Cabinet minister.
  • Former Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar is sworn-in as Cabinet minister.
  • The swearing-in ceremony begins.
  • President Pranab Mukherje arrives for the oath-taking ceremony.
  • Several BJP leaders and NDA ministers including party veteran LK Advani, Minister of External affairs Sushma Swaraj, Venkaiah Naidu and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan are present.
  • PM Narendra Modi arrives at Rashtrapati Bhavan.
  • Manohar Parrikar, Virender Singh and JP Nadda are likely to be sworn-in as Cabinet Ministers.
  • Shortly before the swearing-in ceremony, Suresh Prabhu is present at Rashtrapati Bhavan.
  • I was informed that I will be inducted as independent charge. It depends on PM who will decide who deserves what, said Rudy.
  • TDP Rajya Sabha member YS Chowdhary said that they have been told to be committed towards serving the nation.
  • Will try to give our utmost support to PM Modi – Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti.
  • Shortly after high tea with Modi, Parrikar said that he will fulfill the responsibilities entrusted to him by the PM to the best of his abilities. “We just had tea with PM and got general tips,” he added.
  • Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh took to Twitter and said that “Modi is a one man Cabinet” and does not require one.

  • Tea party at Modi’s residence ends. Party leaders including Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari have left the venue to prepare for the oath taking ceremony.
  • Former union minister and technocrat, Suresh Prabhu, is likely to be inducted as Cabinet minister. He is also present at 7 RCR.
  • Rajiv Pratap Rudy will take charge as MoS (Independent). The BJP leader took to Twitter and said that he is privileged to be a part of the cabinet.

  • Shiv Sena leader Anil Desai has left for the national capital to take part in the oath taking ceremony, according to sources. While Desai’s induction in the Cabinet is expected, he will not attend the tea party hosted by the PM.
  • Party president Amit Shah will also be present.
  • BJP leaders who have arrived at 7 RCR for high tea with PM include Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Giriraj Singh, Vijay Sampla, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Jayant Sinha and Babul Supriyo.
  • Manohar Parrikar leaves for 7 RCR from Goa Sadan.
  • Around 22 ministers are likely to be inducted in the Cabinet, according to sources. These include four Cabinet ministers, 15 ministers of state and three with independent MoS.
  • BJP general secretary JP Nadda arrives at Modi’s residence.
  • Ahead of the ceremony, Modi will host the ministers to be inducted in Cabinet over tea at around 10 am at 7 Race Course Road.
  • The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to take place at 1:30 pm in Rashtrapati Bhavan’s Durbar hall.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s first Cabinet expansion is set to take place on Sunday, a first major revamp exercise since he assumed office on May 26.

Around 20 new faces are likely to be inducted into the existing team of 45 ministers including that of former Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar who is likely to be given the defence portfolio.

Names of Jayant Sinha, son of former Union minister Yashwant Sinha, Anurag Thakur from Himachal Pradesh, Jat leader from Haryana Birender Singh, Bhumiar leader from Bihar Giriraj Singh or Bhola Singh, Col Sonaram Chaudhary and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, both of Rajasthan, and Hansraj Ahir from Maharashtra are also reportedly doing rounds.

No comments