Navaneethakrishnan declared elected AIADMK’s strength in RS goes up to 11

Newly elected Rajya Sabha member A Navaneethakrishnan meets Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa in Chennai. Photo: DIPR
The All India Anna Dravida Kazhagam nominee, A. Navaneethakrishnan, was on Thursday declared elected to the Rajya Sabha.
He fills the vacancy caused due to the disqualification of T.M. Selvaganapathi of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), according to a release issued by A.M. P. Jamaludeen, Returning Officer and Secretary of the Legislative Assembly Secretariat. In April, Mr Selvaganapathi was convicted by a special CBI court in the cremation shed scam case and he quit the MP post too.
Mr. Navaneethakrishnan will remain as MP for the next two years. With him, the strength of the AIADMK goes up to 11. The DMK has four members while the Congress, Communist Party of India (CPI) and the CPI (Marxist) have one each.

No comments